Bring Ya to the Brink – Cyndi Lauper – 2008

Bring Ya to the Brink

Bring Ya to the BrinkThe new album from Cyndi Lauper, “Bring Ya to the Brink” has finally hit the Australian stores. Sure I’ve had it for a couple of weeks but it has only just become available here and what an album it is.

This is Cyndi’s first major release in 12 years. Sure she has had other albums but they were limited release (Shine album in Japan), EPs (Shine the EP), covers (At Last) or remix, self-covers (the Body Acoustic). And on Shine I’ve spent quite a lot of time chasing down all of the songs from the Japanese release and even when I thought we had them all, David found some more. It was a great album and should have seen a world-wide release.

Bring Ya to the Brink is basically a dance album and I think it’s Cyndi’s first album to receive the Explicit tag for the single Same Ol’ Story which already has a “clean” version too.

Same Ol’ Story was the first single from the album. Released as a download only single and given it’s chorus featuring the line “Same ol’ f*%#in’ Story” isn’t seeing a lot of airplay.

The second single is “Into the Nightlife” which is a great track that should see some airplay and some dance floor time. Into the Nightlife is probably my favourite song on the album (at the moment). The video plays heavily to the gay market and features former porn star (now music artist) Carlton Ford that appeared in sites like

Give it a listen, if you’re a Cyndi fan you’ll love it. If you’re a dance music fan, you’ll love it. If you’re neither you may still love it so spare an hour and treat your ears.

Track listing

  1. High and Mighty
  2. Into the Nightlife
  3. Rocking Chair
  4. Echo
  5. Lyfe
  6. Same Ol’ Story
  7. Raging Storm
  8. Lay Me Down
  9. Give It Up
  10. Set Your Heart
  11. Grab a Hold
  12. Rain on Me
  13. Got Candy*
  14. Can’t Breathe*

* Bonus tracks on the Japanese release and US iTunes deluxe edition.
Categorized as Music

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.